Witan Board Of Directors

H M Henderson
* ‡ ˆ 
Appointed a director in 1988, Harry Henderson became Chairman in March 2003. He was formerly a partner of Cazenove & Co. and subsequently a senior executive at Cazenove Group plc, retiring in 2002. Mr Henderson is Chairman of Witan Investment Services Limited. He is also a director of Cadogan Settled Estates Limited.

A L C Bell MA
Chief Executive Officerˆ 

Andrew Bell was appointed a director and Chief Executive Officer from February 2010. He is responsible for the overall management of Witan. Previously he worked at Rensburg Sheppards Investment Management Limited as Head of Research and as an equity strategist and Co-Head of the Investment Trusts team at BZW and Credit Suisse First Boston. Prior to the City, he worked for Shell in Oman, leaving to take a Sloan Fellowship at the London Business School. He was Chairman of the Association of Investment Companies from January 2013 to January 2015 and is currently a non-executive director of Henderson High Income Trust plc and Chairman of Gabelli Value Plus+ Trust plc.

A Watson CBE, BSc (Econ), ASIP, Barrister-at-Law, FCISI (Hon), D.Sc. (Hon)
Senior Independent Director* † ˆ
Tony Watson was appointed a director in 2006. He was appointed Senior Independent Director in February 2008. He is a non-executive director of Hammerson plc, Lloyds Banking Group plc, Vodafone Group Plc and the Shareholder Executive. He was formerly chairman of the Trustees of Marks & Spencer Pension Scheme and Strategic Investment Board Limited (Northern Ireland) and a member of the Financial Reporting Council. Mr Watson retired in 2006 from an executive career in the investment management industry, most recently as Chief Executive of Hermes Fund Managers Limited.

J E B Bevan MA
James Bevan was appointed a director in 2007. He is CIO, CCLA Investment Management. Before joining CCLA in November 2006, he was the Chief Investment Officer at Abbey. Prior to Abbey, he was Chief Investment Officer for Barclays Stockbrokers and Barclays Personal Investment Management, having joined BZW in 1988, following post graduate research in applied economics and asset allocation at Cambridge University.

R W Boyle MA, FCA
Chairman of the Audit Committee* † ˆ
Robert Boyle was appointed a director in 2007. He is a Chartered Accountant and was a partner of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, where he was responsible for multi-national client accounts, specialising in the telecoms and media sectors: he was Chairman of the PWC European Entertainment & Media Practice for twelve years retiring in 2006. He is a non-executive director, and chairman of the audit committee of Maxis Berhad (in Malaysia), Centaur Media plc and Prosperity Voskhod Fund Limited (an AIM listed company).

M C Claydon BA, MBA
Chairman of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee* † ‡ ˆ
Catherine Claydon joined the Board in 2009. Previously she was a Managing Director in the Pension Advisory Group at Goldman Sachs (1992-2007) and Lehman Brothers (2007-2008). She is a non-executive director of the Dunedin Income Growth Investment Trust. She is a trustee of the Barclays UK Pension Fund and the BT Pension Scheme and an independent member of Unilever UK Pension Fund's Investment Committee.

R J Oldfield MA
Director* ‡
Richard Oldfield joined the Board in 2011. He is chief executive of Oldfield Partners LLP, an investment management firm which he founded in 2005 after nine years as chief executive of a family investment office. Before that he was a director of Mercury Asset Management plc which he joined in 1977. He is chairman of the Oxford University investment committee and was chairman of Keystone Investment Trust plc from 2001 to 2010. He is a trustee of Royal Marsden Cancer Charity and of Canterbury Cathedral Trust. 

S E G A Neubert LLM
Director* ˆ
Suzy Neubert joined the Board in 2012. She is Sales & Marketing Director at J O Hambro Capital Management, which she joined in March 2006. She was previously Managing Director of Equity Markets within the Global Markets and Investment Banking Group at Merrill Lynch Securities in London. From 1993, she worked at Smith New Court Europe (later taken over by Merrill Lynch) as a European equity analyst and later as Director of European Equity Sales. Prior to Smith New Court, she worked at Hambros Bank as an Executive in the Corporate Finance division. She is a qualified barrister.

* Independent non-executive directors.
† Members of the Audit Committee which is chaired by Mr Boyle.
‡ Members of the Remuneration Committee which is chaired by Mrs Claydon.
ˆ Director of Witan Investment Services Limited

As at April 2014


This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site we presume you have agreed to our cookie policy. Close